South Dakota Historical Islands


 Additions and/or corrections to the database are encouraged! Simple Add/Edit Procedure.

Historical Features are physical or cultural features that are no longer visible on the landscape. Examples: a dried up lake, a destroyed building, a hill leveled by mining. The term makes no reference to the age, use, or any other aspect of the feature. A ghost town, for example, is not a historical feature if it is still visible.

Displaying 1 to 51 of 51 records
Name County USGS Topo Map
American Island Brule Chamberlain
Ashley Island Corson Mobridge
Blue Blanket Island Corson Mobridge
Brule Island Lyman Oacoma
Brule Island Lyman Lower Brule
Bullberry Island Potter Patch Skin Buttes SE
Cadotte Island Buffalo Lower Brule NE
Cedar Creek Island Lyman Joe Creek NW
Chicot Island Gregory Lake Andes SW
Cottonwood Island Charles Mix Castalia
Des Lauriens Island Buffalo Bedashosha Lake
Devils Island Sully No Heart Creek SE
Dolphees Island Dewey Patch Skin Buttes SW
Dorion Island Hughes Joe Creek NW
Dry Island Brule Red Lake West
Durex Island Gregory Dixon NE
Echo Island Hughes Willow Creek Butte
Fishermans Island Dewey No Heart Creek SE
Fort George Island Hughes Rousseau
Fox Island Walworth Moreau NE
Green Island Yankton Gavins Point Dam
Hamilton Island Gregory Lucas SE
Hot Springs Island Gregory Lucas SE
Joe Ellis Island Gregory Lake Andes SW
Lafferty Island Dewey Artichoke Butte NW
LaRoche Island Gregory Lucas NW
Le Compte Island Charles Mix Campbell Creek
Little Bend Sully Iron Post Buttes
Little Cedar Island Charles Mix Castalia
Marion Island Stanley Pierre
Marthas Island Gregory Lake Andes SW
Medicine Island Lyman Lower Brule SW
Mission Island Sully Mail Shack Creek
Oko Bojou Islands Hughes Iron Post Buttes SE
Pascal Island Potter Artichoke Butte NW
Pascals Island Potter Patch Skin Buttes SE
Pease Island Charles Mix Campbell Creek
Phelps Island Lyman Bond Bottom
Plum Island Sully Artichoke Butte SW
Randall Island Charles Mix Fort Randall Dam
Saint Johns Island Lyman Lower Brule NW
Sand Island Yankton Tabor SE
Sego Island Yankton Tabor SE
Skunk Island Buffalo Lower Brule NE
Stanley Island Sully Iron Post Buttes SW
Strehlow Island Charles Mix Lake Andes SW
Three Sisters Islands Hughes Joe Creek NW
Towhead Island Gregory Lucas SE
Whetstone Island Gregory Campbell Creek
Willow Island Stanley Oahe Dam
Wood Island Hughes Oahe Dam
Page 1